One of the most common questions that I’m asked is how to remove connections on LinkedIn. It’s a great idea to clean up every once in awhile.
The best part of cleaning up your connections list is that they will not get notified! Promise.
Reasons to Disconnect
- You have many connections but don’t really know them
- You don’t remember why you connected in the first place
- The person only adds spam, and no value, to your feed
- Less FOMO (fear of missing out)
- Clutter is stressful
- The person has passed away
Here’s How to Remove Connections on LinkedIn (Desktop)
- Log in to LinkedIn
- Choose My Network from the menu bar
- Choose Manage My Network>Connections
- Click on the three dots (…) next to the person’s name you’d like to delete
- Choose Remove Connection
- LinkedIn will ask if you’re sure about it, then will ask you to confirm
- And NO they won’t be informed
Here’s How to Remove Connections on LinkedIn (Mobile)
- In the app, Choose Network from the navigation bar
- Choose Manage My Network, middle of screen, then Connections
- Choose Remove Connection
- LinkedIn will ask if you’re sure about it, then will ask you to confirm
- And NO they won’t be informed






Hi, Kerry! Thanks for this post – it has always annoyed me that it is so hard to do this in LinkedIn.
I followed your steps but I do not see “Remove Connections” ANYWHERE on the Contacts page….
I’m going to send you the picture of where it is but I’ll post it in the blog as well.
Thank you, I’ve been wanting to delete a couple people for a while now –and now they are gone!
This is SUCH a common question! I’m glad it was helpful.